Wednesday, 26 December 2012

Deftones - Koi No Yokan (2012)

1. Swerve City
2. Romantic Dreams
3. Leathers
4. Poltergeist
5. Entombed
6. Graphic Nature
7. Tempest
8. Gauze
9. Rosemary
10. Goon Squad
11. What Happened To You?

When you've had a career as long and distinguished as Deftones have, the pressure is constantly on, with many wondering if every new album will be "the one where they slip up". Sadly for those pessimistic bastards this album isn't it. While their music may have lessened some of its more abrasive characteristics and accented some of their more ethereal, uplifting elements since the tragic accident and coma of bassist Chi Cheng, the band is as wonderful and unpredictable as ever.

 Wasting no time, opening track "Swerve City" instantly hits us with a pounding seven-string riff, moving from a quiet verse to a soaring, uplifting chorus courtesy of Chino Moreno's superb vocals. It becomes apparent within the first 3 songs that this is an excellent album to put on, tune out the outside world and sing along to. There are some truly fantastic choruses and wonderful chill moments on this album. However the guys still know how to bring it, some of the riffs are crushing, particularly in "Poltergeist", "Gauze" and "Goon Squad". The atmosphere created on this album is one of ethereal bliss and tranquillity. This is an album where each songs stands on its own as a monolithic musical achievement this year, while at the same time sounding eerily incomplete without the other tracks. This is without a doubt one of the highlights of my year and I can wholeheartedly recommend it. This proves that Chino and co have once again outdone themselves and potentially have the capacity to continue doing so for the foreseeable future.


Check this out if: You enjoyed Diamond Eyes and want to hear its natural progression, or you just want an album to lose yourself in

Koi No Yokan is out now on Reprise Records and is streaming in full here

No comments:

Post a Comment